Don’t Waste Your Life [review]

piper_don_t_waste_your_life__53564

iServe Africa apprentice Alice Akello reviews John Piper’s modern classic:

In my search for meaning and purpose, I found Don’t Waste Your Life, a book that has set me on fire for the glory of God centered at the cross of Christ.  Nothing else seems to make sense but this single passion stirred within me to live and die for Jesus as I take satisfaction in glorifying God. I have been challenged in many aspects and pressed to know this one thing: Jesus Christ and Him crucified.

I have learnt that…

If you want your life to count, if you want the ripple effect of the pebbles you drop to become waves that reach the ends of the earth and roll on for centuries and into eternity, you don’t have to have a high IQ or a high EQ. You don’t have to have good looks or riches. You don’t have to come from a fine family or a fine school. You just have to know a few great, majestic, unchanging, obvious, simple, glorious things, and be set on fire by them.

I have been challenged by the soldiers who for a lesser cause give in their lives to defend the interests of their countries. How much more should I sacrifice for as higher a cause as the glory of God.

The greatest cause in the world is joyfully rescuing people from hell, meeting their earthly needs, making them glad in God, and doing it with a kind, serious pleasure that makes Christ look like the Treasure he is.

I was moved by the example of Ruby Eliason (single all her life) and Laura Edwards (widowed) who died together in 2000 in a car accident, these women driven by one great passion, that is to be “spent in unheralded service to the perishing poor for the glory of Jesus Christ.”

In all these I am praying and longing that my life won’t be wasted in “fatal success” but that my life will count for something great. I long for my life to have an “eternal significance.”

I know that it won’t be easy, each day will present me with all reasons to compromise or quit, but my constant awareness must be that as I face each day I won’t be alone, he is with me and he will  be with me in every way to the very end of age.

Leave a Reply

